Skip to main content Text-only Version

Beware of Google Drive “Collaborate” Scam

GRAPHIC: Google Drive Phishing Scam

A phishing scam now circulating involves malicious actors luring Google Drive users into phishing traps. Scammers send fake Google push notifications or emails inviting you to collaborate on a Google Doc. The notifications come directly from Google’s no-reply email address, making them appear more legitimate.

Scammers share documents that contain malicious links which can lead to malware or route victims to websites designed to steal login credentials and other personal info. If you receive a request to collaborate on a Google doc from someone you don’t know or weren’t expecting to receive a collaboration invite from, then it might be a phishing scam. If you receive such an email you can report it and automatically send the suspect message to UFIT by using the “Phish Alert Report” button in your email client. Or you can forward the message as an attachment to abuse@ufl.edu if your mail client doesn’t have the “Phish Alert” button.

Anyone with active GatorLink credentials has free access to UF’s Google Drive. The version UFIT provides offers additional security than a non-authenticated version, and also includes unlimited storage. If you need help setting up your UF Google Drive account, please contact the UF Computing Help Desk (352-392-HELP/4357, helpdesk@ufl.edu).