Skip to main content Text-only Version

Excellence in Course Design Winners Announced

PHOTO: Prof. Julie Levy with 2018-2019 instructional design trophy

Congratulations to the winners of UFIT’s Exceptional Course Development Award for the 2018-19 academic year! The winning courses emphasized personalized assignments with direct application of course concepts to their students’ future professional lives:

Winner: VEM5321 Integrating Veterinary Medicine into Shelter Systems
A team-taught course developed by Julie Levy, Cynda Crawford, Brenda Griffin, Sarah Kirk, and Chrissy Sedgley from the Maddie’s® Shelter Medicine Program. Instructional design support was provided by UFIT’s Ariel Gunn.
Runner-Up: CGS2531 Problem Solving Using Computer Software
A course re-developed and taught by John Mendoza-Garcia. Instructional design support was provided by UFIT’s Heather Maness.

The Exceptional Course Development Award was created to acknowledge instructional faculty who build great courses in many formats (online, traditional, hybrid, etc.). Showcasing these courses highlights the ingenuity, creativity, and innovation that contribute to student success. Instructors have access to numerous CITT assets including workshops, self-service resources, and one-on-one course development and design consultations.

Video of the winners will be shown at the Oct. 29 Teaching TechXploration event. Anyone with questions about instructional design services may complete the “Request Assistance” form or email Assistant Director Shannon Dunn.